• Latest reply 36 days ago by 22troy
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_0951 (resized).jpeg
#1 45 days ago

I have a Beatles Gold on location at my Arcade bar and noticed a while back the first 2 inserts coming out of the shooter lane were getting beat. I applied Mylar to the area and it progressively got worse. I had another Beatles Gold prior to this one, and didn’t have this issue so this playfield does seem defective. On the first insert half of the insert is gone and the second insert is on its way to breaking through. I’m waiting to hear back from Stern to see if they will do anything to remedy this, but I don’t have high hopes.

I’ve never had this issue in over 20 years of collecting pinball machines. Also this isn’t me bashing Stern because I’ve always liked their products. I know stuff happens. I was going to attempt to swap out the inserts, but that’s something I’ve never done before. Any help would be appreciated. I’m thinking of heating up the insert from the bottom to pop them out, but wondering if I need to score of what’s left of the clearcoat to prevent chipping the playfield. Let me know your thoughts. Thanks!

IMG_0951 (resized).jpegIMG_0951 (resized).jpeg

#2 45 days ago
Quoted from 22troy:

I have a Beatles Gold on location at my Arcade bar and noticed a while back the first 2 inserts coming out of the shooter lane were getting beat. I applied Mylar to the area and it progressively got worse. I had another Beatles Gold prior to this one, and didn’t have this issue so this playfield does seem defective. On the first insert half of the insert is gone and the second insert is on its way to breaking through. I’m waiting to hear back from Stern to see if they will do anything to remedy this, but I don’t have high hopes.