(Topic ID: 355471)

How often do good coil stops/plungers last?

By BrokenChair

9 days ago

Topic Stats

• 10 posts
  • 7 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 9 days ago by TheLaw
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Pinside_forum_284630_445537 (resized).jpg
    Pinside_forum_284635_182517 (resized).jpg
    #1 9 days ago

So all the sterns i bought in the past year the coil stops had issues under 500 plays; with solid good coil stops is there a general consensus or average how many plays they should last for? and how about the plunger that hits the stop;

im a beginner trying to figure this out

i dont get what people mean when they say the coil stops start "mushrooming" i just dont understand what that means. i know what a mushroom looks like i know what an atomic bomb looks like but as far as mushrooming on a coil stop clueless

#2 9 days ago

On the older (WPC and older SS) games, they lasted tens of thousands games.

Mushrooming means the top of coilstop or the end of plunger starts breaking apart and spreading.

#3 9 days ago
    Quoted from BrokenChair:

i know what a mushroom looks like i know what an atomic bomb looks like but as far as mushrooming on a coil stop clueless

Mushrooming is not on the coil stop, it's on the plunger.
    Thousands of times slamming against the stop cause the plunger tip to flatten out and mushroom.

#4 9 days ago
    Quoted from BrokenChair:

So all the sterns i bought in the past year the coil stops had issues under 500 plays; with solid good coil stops is there a general consensus or average how many plays they should last for? and how about the plunger that hits the stop;
    i dont get what people mean when they say the coil stops start "mushrooming" i just dont understand what that means. i know what a mushroom looks like i know what an atomic bomb looks like but as far as mushrooming on a coil stop clueless